Home / FedEx shipping calculator
FedEx shipping calculator: US$19.77 retail for a 5 lb box, plus list rates
5 lb, 12 x 9 x 6 in, zone 5, Ground
US$19.77 is FedEx's retail price for shipping without an account, which FedEx says includes fuel and the home charge. On list rates an account pays US$33.25 before any discount, with fuel effective Nov 9.
As of Nov 8, 2026, B2B Fees read FedEx's Retail Rates, its 2026 Service Guide (updated Sep 11, 2026) and its fuel page, checked nightly. How we test ยท How we are paid: no carrier has paid for this page.
FedEx prints two sets of 2026 prices
FedEx's Terms tie Retail Rates to card payment, not a FedEx account, at a staffed shipping location. FedEx's guest-shipping page lets you print a label without an account and pay by card, but does not say which price list that label uses: check the price FedEx shows before you pay. For Ground, the Retail table includes the home charge, the delivery area charge and fuel: US$19.77. The Service Guide's list rates are what an account pays before any discount; the calculator adds the charges and fuel to them: US$33.25, including the US$0.50 holiday charge, with fuel added on it as FedEx's "any temporary surcharge" wording suggests.
Price your box
Estimate from FedEx's published prices: a FedEx scanner has the last word.
On list rates, fuel is charged on the surcharges too: US$7.77, not US$5.65
The list-rate example adds up as US$18.53 list + US$6.45 home charge + US$0.50 holiday charge = US$25.48. FedEx's fuel page says fuel is assessed on the net package rate plus listed surcharges, which include the residential, delivery area, handling and demand charges. So 30.50% of US$25.48 is US$7.77; on the list price alone it would be US$5.65. To a business with no holiday charge: US$18.53 + US$5.65 fuel = US$24.18.
Fuel effective Nov 9: 30.50% for Ground, from a diesel price, and 34.00% for Express, from a jet fuel price. FedEx's retail tables do not say what fuel percent they assume.
FedEx bills the larger of the scale and the box: divide by 139
FedEx rounds each side up to a whole inch, multiplies length x width x height, divides by 139 and rounds up to a pound. It bills that or the scale weight, whichever is larger.
| Box, inches | Volume | Billed at 5 lb | Size stops mattering above |
|---|---|---|---|
| 12 x 9 x 6 | 648 cu in | 5 lb | 5 lb |
| 12 x 12 x 12 | 1,728 cu in | 13 lb | 13 lb |
| 18 x 14 x 10 | 2,520 cu in | 19 lb | 19 lb |
| 24 x 18 x 12 | 5,184 cu in | 38 lb | 38 lb |
The 40 lb and 90 lb minimums
A side over 48 inches, a second side over 30, length plus girth over 105 or more than 10,368 cubic inches bills at least 40 lb and adds Additional Handling: US$29.50, US$32.75, US$38.50, US$40.75 for zone 2, 3 to 4, 5 to 6, 7 to 8. Over 96 inches, 130 inches length plus girth, 17,280 cubic inches or 110 lb is Oversize: US$255.00, US$275.00, US$320.00, US$330.00 and a 90 lb minimum.
FedEx Ground shipping cost by weight, zone 5
Retail prices include the home charge, area charge and fuel; list prices do not. FedEx does not explain why the retail cells sit so near the list cells.
| Weight | Ground retail | Ground list | Express Saver | 2Day | Standard Overnight | Priority Overnight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 lb | US$15.60 | US$14.00 | US$31.04 | US$35.94 | US$81.00 | US$94.68 |
| 2 lb | US$16.81 | US$15.66 | US$31.59 | US$39.04 | US$91.38 | US$101.66 |
| 5 lb | US$19.77 | US$18.53 | US$40.99 | US$55.07 | US$120.63 | US$128.37 |
| 10 lb | US$27.18 | US$20.46 | US$59.21 | US$82.19 | US$160.22 | US$166.56 |
| 20 lb | US$39.33 | US$27.47 | US$99.00 | US$131.84 | US$246.37 | US$261.82 |
| 30 lb | US$55.80 | US$36.03 | US$135.09 | US$179.24 | US$314.80 | US$343.07 |
| 50 lb | US$83.07 | US$53.00 | US$205.81 | US$249.79 | US$460.99 | US$488.42 |
| 70 lb | US$96.06 | US$64.54 | US$293.02 | US$351.39 | US$636.40 | US$667.83 |
Zone moves a Ground price more than weight does
FedEx works the zone out from the two ZIP codes, and its rate tools page shows it. The guide has no state-to-zone chart for U.S. packages. The same 5 lb box to a home:
| Zone | Retail price | List price | List, to a home, with holiday charge and fuel |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | US$14.77 | US$14.06 | US$27.42 |
| 3 | US$15.79 | US$15.62 | US$29.45 |
| 4 | US$16.78 | US$17.06 | US$31.33 |
| 5 | US$19.77 | US$18.53 | US$33.25 |
| 6 | US$22.77 | US$19.26 | US$34.20 |
| 7 | US$25.09 | US$20.47 | US$35.78 |
| 8 | US$27.51 | US$21.69 | US$37.38 |
Holiday charges on the bill now
FedEx's demand surcharges page (updated Nov 5, 2026) lists these per-package charges. It does not say whether they apply on top of Retail Rates: not stated, so the calculator adds none there. The Demand Residential Delivery Charge applies only to accounts over 20,000 residential and Ground Economy packages a week.
| Charge, per package | Oct. 26 to Nov. 22 | Nov. 23 to Dec. 27 | Dec. 28 to Jan. 17, 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ground or Home Delivery, to a home | US$0.50 | US$0.80 | US$0.50 |
| First, Priority or Standard Overnight | US$1.30 | US$2.55 | US$1.30 |
| 2Day, 2Day A.M. or Express Saver | US$1.20 | US$2.35 | US$1.20 |
| Additional Handling package | US$8.80 | US$11.85 | US$8.80 |
| Oversize package | US$95.75 | US$117.25 | US$95.75 |
The Additional Handling and Oversize charges start Sept 28; the others Oct 26. From Jan 4, 2027 FedEx's new list rates apply, and these tables do not cover them.
What is not in these numbers
- Your discount. FedEx publishes list prices and Retail Rates, says a separate agreement can change list prices, and prints no discount schedule.
- 2027. FedEx says list rates rise an average of 5.9% on Jan 4, 2027. These are the 2026 rates, effective Jan 5, 2026; we did not read the 2027 tables.
- Over 150 lb. FedEx rates a chargeable weight over 150 lb at a prorated per-pound rate that is not on the pages we read. A Ground package over 150 lb on the scale is unauthorized.
- Unauthorized Ground packages. FedEx treats a Ground package over 108 in long, over 165 in length plus girth or over 150 lb as unauthorized: US$1,875 per package (Service Guide p. 128), not priced here.
- Other charges. Saturday delivery, signatures, declared value, address correction, FedEx One Rate, Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Canada and international.
- How charges combine. A package that is Oversize is charged Oversize and not Additional Handling; the guide does not say how they combine. It lists a separate Additional Handling amount for size, weight and packaging without saying how those stack, so we charge the largest.
Every charge beyond the list price that the calculator uses
| Extra charge | Amount per package | Applies when |
|---|---|---|
| Home delivery charge, Ground and Home Delivery | US$6.45 | List rates, and the address is a home |
| Residential delivery charge, Express | US$6.95 | The same |
| Delivery area surcharge | US$4.45 business, US$6.60 home | List rates, and the ZIP is on FedEx's list |
| Delivery area surcharge, extended | US$5.55 business, US$8.80 home | List rates, extended tier |
| Extended area, Ground retail | US$3.55 business, US$7.75 home | Retail rates, extended tier |
| Delivery area surcharge, remote | US$16.75 | List rates, remote tier; not stated for retail |
| Additional Handling, size | US$29.50, US$32.75, US$38.50, US$40.75 | Zone 2, 3 to 4, 5 to 6, 7 to 8 |
| Additional Handling, weight | US$46.00, US$50.25, US$56.25, US$58.75 | Over 50 lb |
| Additional Handling, packaging | US$26.50, US$30.75, US$33.00, US$33.75 | Not a corrugated box, or wrapped, banded or soft-sided |
| Oversize | US$255.00, US$275.00, US$320.00, US$330.00 | Over 96 in, 130 in length plus girth, 17,280 cu in or 110 lb |
Quick answers
How much does FedEx Ground cost for a 5 lb box?
On FedEx's Retail Rates, for shipping without an account, US$14.77 in zone 2 up to US$27.51 in zone 8, with the home charge, area charge and fuel included. The list rates are US$14.06 to US$21.69, before charges and fuel.
How much does FedEx overnight shipping cost?
To a home in zone 5 with the holiday charge and 34.00% fuel, the example box totals US$172.70 by Standard Overnight and US$183.07 by Priority Overnight.
Not for you if
- You print labels at home with no accountFedEx does not say which price list that label uses; compare its price with these.
- You have a FedEx account with a discountFedEx publishes no account discount schedule. List prices are the ceiling before your discount; the Retail Rates PDF is for shipping without an account.
- You ship outside the lower 48, or abroadAlaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Canada and international rates are not modeled.
- You want a UPS or USPS priceUPS, USPS or FedEx compares four boxes. We have not read USPS Priority Mail or Priority Mail Express, so no USPS 2-day or overnight price is here.
How we know
- B2B Fees downloaded FedEx's 2026 Service Guide (effective Jan 5, 2026, updated Sep 11, 2026) and FedEx's Retail Rates 2026, and read every table cell and fee by script. We compared each cell with FedEx's Standard List Rates 2026: 7,308 of 7,350 equal, 42 not comparable. All 6,300 Express cells in the Retail Rates equal the Service Guide's.
- FedEx's fuel page, read again every night by script. Its demand surcharge and rate change pages, read in a browser on Nov 8, 2026.
The headline numbers and the calculator run the same code, tested on hand-worked boxes. We shipped no package and did not compare with FedEx's own rate tool, which needs ZIP codes. Not confirmed: how FedEx rounds a fraction of a cent. Method: how we check prices.